From prison to prison, a letter to my sister

Free The 7

In 2008, Shabnam Madadzadeh, an Iranian student, was arrested and sent to jail by the forces of the Iranian regime because she was a student activist advocating freedom and democracy in Iran. In April 2011, Akbar and Mahdieh, two of her siblings who were in Camp Ashraf, were killed by the Iraqi forces in the course of a brutal raid against camp Ashraf. The following letter was submitted to “Free the 7” by Farshid, Shabnam’s younger brother, who is currently on hunger strike in Camp Liberty.

Dear Shabnam,

I write this letter from the prison that is ironically called Liberty. More than seven years have passed since I’ve seen you last, and I miss you very much. I know that there’s no way my letter can reach you in the depths of the mullahs’ dungeons, but writing itself eases some of the pain of not seeing you. I would’ve given…

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

