Abdel Basset Sarout on ISIS and Revolution: Translation of Interview Excerpts

The translation that follows of the interview above is by @Malcolmite.

Journalist Khaled Abo Salah introduces Abdel Basset Sarout: “Let me introduce you the symbol of the revolution. With his courage and simplicity he became the treasure of the revolution. He has always said: ‘Syria is my family; I can’t give it up.’ Now he will tell you his story.”

I would love for you to tell us about the beginning of the revolution.

Answer: I cannot describe the beginnings of this revolution with just mere words or actions, it was the most beautiful at its inception. The beginning was much more difficult than what we are witnessing today. I was at the roots of the revolution and I went out to support the people.

Question: Tell me about your first protest, where you went out and sang?

Answer: My first protest was at the clock tower in Homs…

View original post 7,023 more words

Leave a Reply

